Subways in Chinese cities

Q: Which Chinese cities currently have subway trains?

Subway is a relatively new means of transportation in China. The first subway line of the country, located in Beijing, came into operation in 1969. Since then, a number of Chinese cities have built their own systems. Currently, in addition to Beijing, there are subway systems in operataion in the following cities: Tianjin, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Nanjing. If you consider Greater China, you should also include Hong Kong and Taibei.

Of these subway train networks, the largest are those in Shanghai and Beijing. In Shanghai, eight subway lines are currently in operation: Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9, with a total length of 236 km. In Beijing, five lines are currently in operation: Nos. 1, 2, 5, 13 and Batong Line, with a total length of 142 km.

A few other cities in China have subway system currently under construction - Hangzhou, Shenyang, Chengdu and Xian.