Beijing South Railway Station

Beijing South Railway Station is one of the main train stations in Beijing. The other two important railway stations in China's capital city is Beijing Railway Station (Beijing Huoche Zhan or Beijing Zhan), built in the 1950s, and Beijing West Railway Station (Beijing Huoche Xi Zhan or Beijing Xi Zhan), opened in 1996. Beijing South Railway Station was opened in August 2008, just in time for the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. Among other services, Beijing South is the departing station for the high-speed trains that link Beijing to Tianjin and Shanghai, which can travel at speeds above 300 km per hour. The station is located in, well, the southern part of Beijing, between Second Southern Beltway and Third Southern Beltway.