144-Hour Visa-Free Stay in Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang of China

Starting January 30, 2016, travelers from 51 countries can visit the Yangzi delta region of China with no visa. Under this new policy, travelers who transit through a transportation termin in Shanghai Municipality, Jiangsu Province, and Zhejiang province can apply for the 6-day stay in the region upon their arrival.

Visitors who plan to take advantage of the 144-hour stay must be in transit - in other words, they must be travel to a third country or China. For instance, someone who flies from the United States to Shanghai and will move on to Seoul will be transiting through China and is thus qualified for the 6-day visa-free visit. In contrast, someone who flies in from the United States and plans to fly back to the U.S. directly after his visit of Shanghai is not transiting and is not qualified to take advantage of the 144-hour visa-free stay.

To prove one is tansiting, a traveler should have confirmed ticket to move on to a third country/region, for which he has visa to visit if needed. The traveler should enter China at one of the eligible airports, railway stations, and ports in Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang. While visiting the region covered by the visa-free policy, travelers should stay in the region and should not venture out of the area, and travelers should leave before the end of the allowed time period (counting starts at 0:00 the day of a passenger's arrival).

Travelers who intend to take advange of the 6-day visa-free visit can apply for their permits upon their arrival at the following transportation terminals. In Shanghai: Pudong International Airport, Hongqiao International Airport, all railway stations in Shanghai, Wusong Passenger Transport Center, and the International Cruise Terminal of the Shanghai Port. In Jiangsu: Nanjing Lukou International Airport. In Zhejiang, Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport.

Citizens of the following countries are eligible for the 144-hour visa-free visit of Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang:

Countries of Asia: Brunei, Japan, Qatar, Singapore, South Korea, United Arab Emirates

Countries of the Americas: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico, the United States

Countries of Oceania: Australia, New Zealand

European Countries under Schengen Agreement: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland 

European Countries (non-Schengen): Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Macedonia (FYROM), Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine, the United Kingdom