Visa-Free Transit Stay in Chengdu to Be Launched

Before long foreign travelers transiting through Chengdu will be able to stay in the city for up to 72 hours without visa. Chinese media reported that the new visa-free transit policy has been approved by the central government of China, with implementation date still to be determined. Currently similar policies are in place for foreign transiting through Beijing and Shanghai, and earlier this year it was announced that Guangzhou will launch such a program in June this year.

The visa-free transit policy will apply to citizens of the following 45 countries: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Britain, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Mexico, Netherland, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States.

Under the visa-free transit arrangement, a passenger can spend up to 72 hours in a city he transits through without visa, on the condition that he has a ticket for a connecting flight and a visa for his next destination. 

Chengdu is the capital of Sichuan Province. With a population of 14 million, Chengdu is one of the largest cities in Southwest China.