There Are 225 National Scenic Areas in China as of 2012

In the early 1980s the central government of China started to identify the most important scenic areas in China and give them national recognition. As of December 2012, there are a total of 225 National Scenic Areas in the country. Additionally, provincial governments maintain lists of scenic zones of regional importance.

Thirty-two of the 225 National Scenic Areas in China are UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Eight of China’s provincial scenic zones are similarly recognized by UNESCO.

The 225 National Scenic Areas were selected over the past 30 years. Earlier this year the State Council of China promoted 17 sightseeing destinations to the national status. Among the new additions are Fenghuang in Hunan Province, Meizhoudao in Fujian Province, and Xumishan Grottoes in Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region.