Districts in Qingdao Consolidated

The municipal government of Qingdao has redrawn the map of the city, consolidating four districts under its administration into two larger ones. Shibei District and Sifang District, which cover much of old Qingdao, are combined into one district called Shibei. Huangdao District, which sits across Jiaozhou Bay from old Qingdao, is merged with the neighboring Jiaonan County to make a new Huangdao District.

The history of Qingdao goes back to the end of the 19th century, when Germany built a naval base in the area. In the hundred years that followed, Qingdao, with its temperate climate and beautiful hilly landscape, turned into one of China's favoriate vacational destinations.

In recent decades, China's economic boom has also re-energized Qingdao, which led to rapid expanse. Among other developments, a bridge was built over Jiaozhou Bay to connect areas east and west of the bay. The bridge, 41.58 km in length, is the longest of its kind in the world.

Under the new administrative system, Qingdao is consisted of five districts (Shibei, Huangdao, Lichang, Laoshan, and Chengyang) and four outlying counties (Jimo, Jiaozhou, Pingdu and Laixi).